Various Artists

This Is Icelandic Indie Music, Vol. 2 AlbumPurchased

The second installment in Record Records’ compilation series This Is Icelandic Indie Music is out on May 13. The first one came out in the spring of 2013 and it was the biggest selling compilation that was released in Iceland that year. This Is Icelandic Indie Music Vol. 2 features thirteen tracks by thirteen Record Records artists, including four previously unreleased. The last few months have been great for indie rock band Mammút. Their third full length album Komdu til mín svarta systir was the most praised album released in Iceland last year. It was chosen the album of the year by Morgunblaðið, Fréttablaðið, Fréttatíminn and The Reykjavík Grapevine and it also received prizes at the Icelandic Music Awards and Kraumur Short List. Reggae band Ojba Rasta followed up their magnificent 2012 self-titled debut with Friður last year and it includes popular radio hits such as “Einhvernvegin svona” and “Ég veit, ég vona”. The Record Records newcomers FM Belfast have released their third album that’s entitled Brighter Days. One of the most anticipated releases of 2014 is the sophomore album by jazz infused math rockers Agent Fresco. 2014 marks the return of alternative rock band Benny Crespo’s Gang who will follow up their brilliant debut album from 2007, “Birthmarks” is their first release since the brilliant 2010 single “Night Time”. See You In The Afterglow is the most vibrant album by pristine guitar rock outfit Leaves, “Ocean” is the second and recalls 60s pop sensibility of artists such as The Walker Brothers and Phil Spector. Pixies touring buddies and KEXP-lauded pop outfit Mono Town released their long awaited debut album in the spring of 2014. In The Eye Of The Storm features the haunting Iceland radio hit “Peacemaker” which is just a topping of a great album. The newest Record Records signee is a young singer songwriter from the Vestmann Islands (a small archipelago based south of Iceland) called Júníus Meyvant. We expect nothing but great things from this utterly talented musician. The substantial female singer songwriter Lay Low released her fourth self-produced studio album Talking About The Weather in late 2013. It’s an outstanding album and a great add-on to her rich catalog of albums. The distinguished indie pop band Tilbury released their solid sophomore album in the fall of 2013. Northern Comfort is a delicate and sometimes chilly album with synth drenched songs about love and the hunt for love. Vök, the winners of Iceland’s Music Experiments, created a fair amount of buzz with their highly confident debut EP, Tension. Hymns, the sweet and heartwarming debut of neo-folk outfit Hymnalaya made them some fans in the lines of Of Monsters and Men and Seattle’s radio station KEXP. Snorri Helgason’s richest and possibly his delicate album to date is also the debut album for Snorri Helgason the band. Autumn Skies is performed by Snorri himself and also his band that features people from múm, Amiina, Moses Hightower, Hjaltalín and other stalwarts of Iceland’s blossoming music scene.
1. Blóðberg Mammút 00:03:54 1.00 USD
Main artist Mammút
Composer Katrína Mogensen | Alexandra Baldursdóttir | Vilborg Ása Dýradóttir | Arnar Pétursson | Andri Bjartur Jakobsson
Author Katrína Mogensen
2. Ég veit ég vona Ojba Rasta 00:03:39 1.00 USD
Main artist Ojba Rasta
Composer Teitur Magnússon
Author Teitur Magnússon
3. Brighter Days FM Belfast 00:03:52 1.00 USD
Main artist FM Belfast
Composer Árni Vilhjálmsson | Árni Rúnar Hlöðversson | Lóa Hlín Hjálmtýsdóttir
Author Lóa Hlín Hjálmtýsdóttir | Árni Vilhjálmsson | Árni Rúnar Hlöðversson
4. Dark Water Agent Fresco 00:03:37 1.00 USD
Main artist Agent Fresco
Composer Þórarinn Guðnason | Arnór Dan Arnarson
Author Arnór Dan Arnarson
5. Birthmarks Benny Crespo's Gang 00:04:21 1.00 USD
Main artist Benny Crespo's Gang
Composer Helgi Rúnar Gunnarsson | Magnús Árni Øder Kristinsson | Lovísa Elísabet Sigrúnardóttir | Björn Ólafsson
Author Magnús Árni Øder Kristinsson | Helgi Rúnar Gunnarsson | Björn Ólafsson | Lovísa Elísabet Sigrúnardóttir
6. Ocean Leaves 00:03:51 1.00 USD
Main artist Leaves
Composer Kjartan F. Ólafsson | Andri Ásgrímsson | Arnar Guðjónsson | Elís Pétursson | Nói Steinn Einarsson
Author Andri Ásgrímsson | Kjartan F. Ólafsson | Elís Pétursson | Arnar Guðjónsson | Nói Steinn Einarsson
7. Peacemaker Mono Town 00:03:02 1.00 USD
Main artist Mono Town
Composer Daði Birgisson | Börkur Hrafn Birgisson | Bjarki Sigurðsson
Author Börkur Hrafn Birgisson | Daði Birgisson | Bjarki Sigurðsson
8. Color Decay Júníus Meyvant 00:04:27 1.00 USD
Main artist Júníus Meyvant
Composer Unnar Gísli Sigurmundsson
Author Unnar Gísli Sigurmundsson
9. Gently Lay Low 00:03:46 1.00 USD
Main artist Lay Low
Composer Lovísa Elísabet Sigrúnardóttir
Author Lovísa Elísabet Sigrúnardóttir
10. Turbulence Tilbury 00:03:21 1.00 USD
Main artist Tilbury
Composer Þormóður Dagsson
Author Þormóður Dagsson
11. Before Vök 00:03:23 1.00 USD
Main artist Vök
Composer Margrét Rán Magnúsdóttir | Andri Már Enoksson
Author Andri Már Enoksson | Margrét Rán Magnúsdóttir
12. In My Early Years Hymnalaya 00:04:12 1.00 USD
Main artist Hymnalaya
Composer Kristofer Rodriguez Svönuson | Gísli Hrafn Magnússon | Einar Kristinn Þorsteinsson
Author Kristofer Rodriguez Svönuson | Einar Kristinn Þorsteinsson | Gísli Hrafn Magnússon
13. Kveðja Snorri Helgason 00:02:29 1.00 USD
Main artist Snorri Helgason
Composer Snorri Helgason
Author Snorri Helgason