Fauna Vokalkvintett

Jeg er så glad hver julekveld SinglePurchased

The vocal group Fauna was established in the autumn of 2009 at the Norwegian Academy of Music. The group consists of five skilful members who have their backgrounds from different musical traditions: Silje Worquenesh Østby Kleiven, Camilla Marie Bjørk Andreassen, Beate Børli Løkken, Christina Thingvold and Gudrun Emilie Goffeng. In this particular recording, Norwegian singer Marthe Susann Åndahl was substituting for Silje Worquenesh Østby Kleiven. Fauna works with folk songs outside of the conventional folk music tradition. This enables them to explore an intriguing sound, as two of the members are trained jazz singers, while the remaining three are practised in the classical tradition. Fauna’s musical arrangements are written by the members of the group, and all compositions are tailored for their voices. Through the music it becomes evident that it is the mixture of differences that makes up the unique and brave sound they present here. "Jeg er så glad hver julekveld" ("I am so glad each Christmas eve") is a well known Norwegian Christmas song. The lyrics are by Marie Wexelsen (1832-1911). The melancholic tune used in this recording is after Guttorm Flisen from Elverum. The arrangement is written by Beate Børli Løkken.
1. Jeg er så glad hver julekveld 00:04:20
Main artist Fauna Vokalkvintett
Composer Folketone fra Østerdalen
Author Marie Wexelsen
Performers Beate Børli Løkken | Camilla Marie Bjørk Andreassen | Gudrun Emilie Goffeng | Christina Thingvold | Marthe Susann Åndahl
Arrangers Beate Børli Løkken
Producers Terje Baugerød