The New Deal

Canning Town Beach SinglePurchased

The New Deal is a project founded by UK Oi pioneers Cockney Rejects front man Jeff Turner and Swedish boogie rock Diamond Dogs front man Sulo Karlsson. Jeff Turner was only 15 years old 1979 when he formed the band The Cockney Rejects in London together with his 3 years older brother Mick. Through their street punk underground hit “Oi, Oi, Oi” and their hooligan background (supporting West Ham) they domed a whole new genre that would spread all over the world and influence bands like Rancid, Dropkick Murphys etc. Sulo Karlsson is one of Sweden’s most creative songwriters and was the frontman for Swedish boogie band The Diamond Dogs. Released 12 albums and toured all over Europe with artists such as Ian Hunter, Nazareth, The Cult, The Damned etc. He formed The Crunch 2012 with former Clash drummer Terry Chimes, Dave Tregunna (Sham 69) and Jeff’s brother Mick. They’ve released 2 albums so far. But it sounds like nothing you would expect these gentlemen sound like together. “Canning Town Beach” is like a postcard from a forgotten London a distant cousin to Ray Davies “Waterloo Sunset”, the roughness of Ian Dury’s “New Boots and Panties” and the harmonies of the early Small Faces on Carnaby Street. Even if these boys are brought up on early glam and Punkrock you wouldn’t be surprised if the recording date of “Canning Town Beach” would say 1968. And to have that organic sound in the year of 2018 my friends, that’s a New Deal!! The New Deal will be released by Misty Recordings and Europe promotion by Rock n Growl.
1. Canning Town Beach 00:04:13
Main artist The New Deal
Composer Sulo Karlson
Author Sulo Karlson | Jeff Turner
Arrangers Sulo Karlson
Producers Kevin Poree
Publishers Misty Music AB/Legal Publishing